At the end of the lease, the landlord has a decision to either renew or not renew the lease with a tenant.
In this post, we will discuss what the proper lease renewal notice period is and also what to do when not renewing lease a lease vs renewing a lease.
A table of contents for Lease Renewal Notice Period
- What is a lease renewal notice period
- How much notice does a landlord have to give if not renewing a lease
- How to give a notice when ending a lease
- Not renewing lease letter (end of lease letter to tenant from landlord)
- Lease nonrenewal letter to landlord
- Lease renewal notice to tenant
- Can a landlord not renew a lease for no reason?
- Failing to give notice when a lease ends
A lease renewal notice period is the timeframe before the end of the lease that a landlord or tenant must inform the other party if they not going to renew the lease.
This lease renewal notice period should be spelled out in the lease but in most instances will be dictated by state law.
This duration period should be addressed in the lease. If it is not you should refer to your state laws which are listed below.
These notifications are mostly for landlords but can double as the rule for timelines for tenants as well.
As a rule of thumb, a 60-day notice is a good standard regardless of what your state laws say.
Lease renewal notice period by state:
Here’s a list of every US state and how much notice a landlord must give if not renewing a lease:
Alabama – No notice is required
Alaska – No notice is required
Arizona – No notice is required
Arkansas – No statute which typically means no notice is required
California – No notice is required
Colorado – No notice is required
Connecticut – Three- day notice is required (§§ 47a-23)
Delaware – 60-day notice prior to the lease expiration date (§ 5106 (c))
Florida – Not less than 60 days’ notice prior to the end of any annual period (83.57(1))
Georgia – 60-day notice for landlord and 30-day notice for the tenant (GA Landlord Tenant Handbook)
Hawaii – Termination is automatic and there is no notice requirement (handbook, p. 13)
Idaho – Notice not required as the lease simply ends. (AG’s Guidelines (pages 23 and 25)
Illinois – Yearly is 60 days, Month-to-Month is 30 days, week-to-week is 7 days (735 ILCS 5/9-205)
Indiana – No Statute. No notice is needed as the lease simply expires. (IC 32-31-1-8)
Iowa – 30 day notice for Month-to-Month [Iowa Code § 562A.34(3)]
Kansas – No notice is required as the lease simply ends. (§§ 58-2509)
Kentucky – Yearly there is no statute. Month-to-Month is 30 days (KRS § 383.695(2)) and week-to-week is 7 days (KRS § 383.695(1))
Louisiana – No notice is required as the lease simply ends, unless the lease is extended by fact of the tenant remaining in the premises for longer than a week past the end of the lease without notice to vacate or terminate. If that happens, the lease is extended to month-to-month for leases whose term is a month or longer. (CC 2720, CC 2721, CC 2723)
Maine – Not until after lease expiration, unless tenant has broken a significant lease term and the lease itself states that violation of that term is a breach of the lease. (Maine.gov)
Maryland – 3 months, except farm tenancies which is 6 months. In Montgomery County, 2 months notice is required except for single-family homes. This is not applicable to Baltimore City (Md Real Property Code, 8-402(b)(3)).
Massachusetts – Lease with no end date is 3 month’s notice, fixed end date has no statute, month-to-month is Equal to the interval between the days of payment or thirty days, whichever is longer. (MGL c.186 § 12)
Michigan – Year-to-Year Lease with No End Date the notice shall terminate the lease at the expiration of 1 year from the time of the service of the notice. (§§ 554.134(3)), Month-to-Month is 30 days and Week-to-Week is is Seven days
Minnesota – No Statute. The lease simply terminates as scheduled. (§§ 504B.145)
Mississippi – Fixed Ende Date in Lease requires no notice. A Yearly Lease with No End Date require Two-month writen notice, a Month-to-Month lease required 30-day written notice, a Week-to-Week Lease requires Seven days (§ 89-7-23)
Missouri – Fixed End Date in Lease requires no notice, a Yearly Lease with No End Date requires a 60-Day notice, a Month-to-Month Lease requires One-month written notice, a Week-to-Week Lease has no statute. (§§ 441.070)
Montana – A Fixed End Date Lease and any Periodic Lease of a Year or More both have no statute so no notice is required. A Month-to-Month lease required 30 days where a Week-to-Week requires 7 days’ written notice (Mont. Ann. Code §§70-24-441)
Nebraska – Fixed end date lease requires no notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires 30 days prior to the periodic rental date specified in the notice. (§§ 76-1437(2)), a Week-toWeek lease requires Seven days prior to the termination date specified in the notice. (§§ 76-1437(1))
Nevada – Yearly lease has no statute, Month-to-Month requires 30 days, a Week-to-Week requires seven days of notice. (NRS 40.251)
New Hampshire – Yearly leases (fixed end date AND no end date) require 30 days notice, Month-to-Month requires 30 days, Week-to-Week requires 30 days. (§§ 540:3(II))
New Jersey – Fixed end date leases require no notice, a yearly lease with no end date requires three months, a Month-to-Month lease requires one month, a Week-to-Week lease requires seven days. (§§ 2A:18-56(c))
New Mexico – Fixed end date leases require no notice, Month-to-Month leases require 30-day written notice, and Week-to-Week leases require a seven day written notice. (§ 47-8-37(A))
New York – If the tenant has a lease less than one year, a 30-day notice is required. If the tenant has lived in the apartment for more than one year but less than two it requires a 6-day notice (or has a lease of at least one year but less than two years). Tenants who have lived in a unit longer than two year, or have a lease of at least two years, must get a 90-day notice from the landlord. (source: NY Times)
North Carolina – Fixed end date leases require no notice, Yearly leases require one month or more before the end of tenancy, Month-to-Month leases require seven days, and Week-toWeek leases require 2 days. (NCGS § 42-14)
North Dakota – Fixed end date leases do not require notice, a yearly lease with no end date requires one month written notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires one month, a Week-to-Week lease requires one week notice. (§ 47-16-14)
Ohio – A fixed end date lease requires no notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires 30 days, a Week-to-Week lease requires a seven day notice. (§§ 5321.17(B))
Oklahoma – Fixed end date leases require no notice, Month-to-Month leases require 30-day written notice, and Week-to-Week leases require a seven-day notice. (§ 111(C))
Oregon – A yearly lease with no end date requires 60-day notice or more, a fixed end date lease requires no notice, and Month-to-Month leases require 30 days or more in writing. (Or. Rev. Stat. § 91.060)
Pennsylvania – A year or less lease required 15 days of notice, a lease of more than a year requires 30 days. (68 P.S. §§ 250.501(b))
Rhode Island – Fixed end date leases require no notice, a yearly lease with no end date require a 3-month notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires a 30-day notice, whereas a Week-to-Week lease requires a 10-day notice. (§ 34-18-37(c))
South Carolina – Fixed end date leases require no notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires 30 days, and a Week-to-Week lease requires seven days. (§ 27-40-770(a))
South Dakota – A fixed end date lease requires no notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires a 30-day notice (tenants who are active military are entitled to two months written notice), and a Week-to-Week lease requires a one week notice to terminate. (§§ 43-32-22(1))
Tennessee – Fixed end date leases require no notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires 30 days, a Week-to-Week lease requires 10 days. (Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28-512(b))
Texas – At least one month is required for yearly and Month-to-Month leases. (texas.gov)
Utah – A fixed end date in lease requires no notice, a lease with no end date requires 15 days, and a Month-to-Month lease requires 15 day notice. (UCA §§ 78B-6-802)
Vermont – A fixed end date in lease requires no notice, any lease of a year or more requires 90 days, a Month-to-Month lease requires at least 30 days, and a Week-to-Week lease requires 21 days. (9 V.S.A. § 4467(c)(1)(A))
Virginia – A yearly lease requires 3 months notice and a Month-to-Month lease requires 30 days. (§ 55-222(A))
Washington – A fixed end date in lease requires no notice and a Month-to-Month lease require 20 days or more notice. (RCW §§ 59.04.030)
Washington – 20 days notice is required Wash. Rev. Code Ann. (§§ 59.18.140, 59.18.200)
West Virginia – A fixed end date in lease requires no notice, a yearly lease with no end date requires a three month written notice, a Month-to-Month lease requires one month notice, and a Week-to-Week lease requires one week notice. (§ 37-6-5)
Wisconsin – Varies largely depending on the situation, here is a link with details.
Wyoming – There is no statute for any types of lease and therefore it does not require any notice.
Double check your state laws by visiting the link provided with each state.
There are certain steps they must take to notify the tenants of the non-renewal. Most states require the landlord to give some kind of written notice to the tenant. The lease renewal notice period is usually 30 to 60 days, depending on the state. At that time, landlords need to mail (we suggest paying for certified mail) or hand-deliver a letter that states that the tenant’s lease will come to an end on a given date.
In that letter, the landlord does not have to provide a reason for the non-renewal of the lease. State laws protect landlords in this way, allowing them to terminate a lease without needing a reason whenever the expiration of a lease happens.
If the tenant fails to vacate the rental property by the time the lease agreement is up, landlords will go ahead with that tenant’s eviction.
Here’s a sample notice you can provide your tenant.
Dear (Tenant’s name),
This letter is to inform you that I do not intend to renew your lease. As per the laws of the State of (insert state) this is your (insert number of days) notice of nonrenewal.
As of the (one day after their lease expires) all possessions should be removed from the premise and keys in the possession of the landlord.
I can be reached at (phone number and address) if you have any questions between now and the end of your lease that ends on (insert lease end date).
(Landlord/Property Manager’s Name)
Lease nonrenewal letter to landlord
Here’s a sample notice you can provide your landlord to inform them you’ll not be renewing your lease.
Dear (Landlords’s name),
This letter is to inform you that I do not intend to renew my lease. As per the laws of the State of (insert state), this is my (insert number of days) notice of nonrenewal stating that I will be leaving my apartment on (date), which is the end of my current lease.
I expect that my security deposit of ($__) will be returrned in full as the apartment will be left in broom-swept condition.
I can be reached at (phone number and address) if you have any questions between now and the end of my lease that ends on (insert lease end date).
Lease renewal notice to tenant
Use the following notice sample to let your tenant know you will not be renewing the lease.
(Date notice is being sent)
Dear (Tenant’s name),
This letter is your official notice that your current lease expires on (lease expiration date). You have been a great tenant and we would like to enter into a new lease of (insert lease length).
Attached to this notice you will find a copy of the new lease for your records. All of the original terms of the lease remain the same with the exception of (insert any changes such as dates or rent amount).
Your security deposit (and any other deposits such as pet deposits) will remain intact and carry over into the new lease term.
If you decide to renew the lease please call us at (insert phone number) so we can go over and sign the new lease together. This must be done by (insert date of your choice before the end of the current lease).
If you decide to move on from this apartment please give us an (insert number of days based on your state’s law) day notice of nonrenewal.
(Landlord printed name)
A landlord does not have to provide reason for why they are choosing to not renew a lease. In the same breath, a tenant also does not have to provide reason for nonrenewal.
A lease is a contract with a start and end date, as long as that contract is completed no reasoning for nonrenewal is needed.
If a landlord does not give the written notice that the lease will not be renewed, a one year lease will transition into a month-to-month lease agreement. This means that either the landlord or the tenant can end the lease agreement with a 30-day written notice. Neither party needs to give a reason for the termination.
If the landlord wants to end the lease but the tenants do not, it’s important to communicate with each other. Landlords should explain the process and cite state law as they will likely be more familiar with the process than the tenants.
Under no circumstances should landlords accept rent or agree to any new leasing terms beyond the original lease term if they want the tenants to vacate. The court will interpret either of these actions as being a default extension for the original lease as one that is now month-to-month.
RentPrep’s Take On Giving Notice When Ending a One Year Lease
Landlords need to comply with the laws of their state when it comes to giving a notice of lease termination when ending a one year lease. They need to communicate their intentions and try to give the tenant enough notice so they can vacate.
The state laws try to be fair to both parties. Because both the tenant and the landlord are bound by the contract that is the lease agreement, they are both beholden to it. If there are any complications regarding giving notice when ending a one year lease, landlords should consult with a landlord/tenant attorney.
What Are Other Landlords Saying About Giving Notice When Ending a One Year Lease
Every landlord needs to protect themselves and their rental business. There are many real-life examples of how landlords are dealing with ending lease agreements in the RentPrep Facebook group.
Here’s a screenshot of landlords discussing this question in our private Facebook group for Landlords.
You can see even more comments on that post by checking it out in the group.