Kansas Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Kansas

Our Kansas Tenant Screening Guide is a great resource for landlords in the state of the Kansas. It is filled with free resources and helpful knowledge specific to your state. Check out our free guide for more information.

Regarding Security Deposit

Kansas state law allows landlords to collect up to two months’ rent for a tenant’s security deposit.

Kansas law requires landlords to place a tenant’s deposit in a federally insured institution.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 30 days after lease termination, either in full or with an itemized list of deductions.

Kansas laws concerning security deposits can be found in Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2501 to -2573.

Regarding Application Fees

Kansas law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Value of the check plus triple the value of the check as a penalty not exceeding the original amount by $500 or a $100 penalty.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, a tenant could get a fine of up to $2,500, a year in jail, or both. And for a felony, they could get a fine of up to $5,000, 1 to 5 years in jail, or both.

Allowable Fees:  $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

If the tenancy is longer than three months, a landlord must give a tenant at least 10-day notice to pay or quit. If the tenancy is less than three months, the landlord only needs to give a 3-day notice. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Kan. Rev. Stat. §§ 58-25-7.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.