Minnesota Tenant Screening

Are you looking for resources regarding Minnesota tenant screening? Be sure to check out our Minnesota Tenant Screening Guide. It is filled with free resources, forms, and helpful advice on finding the best possible tenant for your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

Minnesota state law places no limit on what landlords may charge up for a security deposit.

Minnesota law also does not place conditions on how a landlord must keep a tenant’s security deposit.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 21 days after lease termination.

Minnesota laws concerning security deposits can be found in Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 504B.001 to .471.

Regarding Application Fees

Minnesota law places restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for processing. Landlords must provide the tenant with the screening service’s contact information before collecting the fee. The landlord must also return any balance from the fee to the tenant that was not paid to the screening company.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the check, a service fee of $15, and a penalty charge of $100. Also, reasonable attorney fees if the original amount owed to the landlord is over $1,250.

Criminal Penalties: For amounts lower than $250, it’s a misdemeanor and results in imprisonment of up to 90 days plus a $1,000 fine. For amounts between $250 and $500, it’s a gross misdemeanor and results in imprisonment of up to 1 year plus a $3,000 fine. Amounts higher than $500 can result in imprisonment of up to 5 years plus a $3,000 fine.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Minnesota, a landlord must give a tenant at least 14 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Minn. Stat. Ann. § 504B.135.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.