Alaska Landlord-Tenant Laws
Tenant Screening in Alaska
When screening tenants, there are many differences from state to state. If you’re in Alaska we have a guide specific to screening tenants in Alaska. Check it out for free resources and information specific to your state.
Regarding Security Deposit
Landlords can charge up to two months’ rent for a security deposit. The law allows an exception for a larger deposit if the property rents for more than $2,000.
Alaska law requires landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a trust account, and pay interest on that deposit.
Tenant security deposits must be returned within 14 days after a tenant moves out if the tenant gave proper notice. If the tenant did not give proper notice, the security deposit must be returned within 30 days. Either way, the deposit must be returned in full or partially with an itemized statement of deductions.
Alaska laws concerning security deposits can be found in AK Code Sec. 34.03.070.
Regarding Application Fees
Alaska has no limits in place for what a landlord can charge as an application fee.
Regarding Tenant Bad Checks
Civil Penalties: $100 or triple the amount of the check, whichever is greater, to recover damages. The damages may not exceed the amount of the check by any more than $1000.
Criminal Penalties: A check for $25,000 or more could result in a maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment of up to 10 years, or both. A check for $500 to $25,000 could result in a maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment of up to 5 years, or both. A check of $50 to $500 could have a maximum fine of $5,000, imprisonment of up to 1 year, or both, and a check under $50 could have a maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.
Allowable Fees: $25
Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment
A tenant will receive a seven day notice to pay or quit, after which the landlord can begin eviction proceedings through the district or county court, according to Alaska Code § 35-9A-421.