Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Laws

Wyoming Tenant Screening

If you’re searching for specifics on tenant screening in the state of Wyoming you should visit this blog post. You can find a comprehensive guide on everything tenant screening.

Regarding Security Deposit

Wyoming state law places no restrictions on the amount that landlords may collect from a tenant for a security deposit.

Wyoming law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of Wyoming specify that the landlord has 30 days from the end of tenancy to return a security deposit to a tenant, or 15 days from whenever the tenant provides a forwarding address, whichever is later.

Wyoming laws concerning security deposits can be found in Wyo. Stat. §§ 1-21-1201.

Regarding Application Fees

Wyoming law does not limit the amount landlords may charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the original check, plus reasonable attorney fees and damages equal to the cost of collections.

Criminal Penalties: If a misdemeanor, then they could get one or both of the following: a fine of up to $750 or up to 6 months in jail. For a felony, they could get up to a $10,000 fine, up to 10 years in jail, or both penalties.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Wyoming, a landlord is required to give a tenant 3 days of notice in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings, according to Wyo. Stat. §§ 1-21-1002.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.