Wisconsin Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Wisconsin

Regarding Security Deposit

Wisconsin state law places no restrictions on the amount that landlords may collect from a tenant for a security deposit.

Wisconsin law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit, but several municipalities, such as Madison, have specific requirements about holding funds in interest-bearing accounts. Landlords should check local requirements carefully.

The state laws of Wisconsin specify that the landlord has 21 days from the end of tenancy to return a security deposit to a tenant.

Wisconsin laws concerning security deposits can be found in Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 704.01-.50.

Regarding Application Fees

Wisconsin law allows landlords to charge for an application up to $20 and the landlord must provide the tenant with a copy of the report.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the original check, plus any actual damages and exemplary damages. This cannot exceed three times the amount of the original.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get either 1 year in jail, or up to a $1,000 fine.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Wisconsin, a landlord is required to give a tenant 5 days of notice in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings, according to Wis. Stat. Ann. § 704.17.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.