Vermont Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening Vermont

We have a separate post on tenant screening in Vermont that you can check out if you’re looking for resources involving screening tenants in Vermont.

Regarding Security Deposit

Vermont state law does not regulate the amount that landlords may collect from a tenant for a security deposit.

Vermont law specifies that landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit in an interest-bearing account.

The state laws of Vermont require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 14 days of the end of tenancy.

Vermont laws concerning security deposits can be found in Vt. Stat Ann. tit. 9, §§ 4451 to 4468.

Regarding Application Fees

Vermont law does not allow landlords to collect an application fee for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the original check plus court costs, attorney fees, and damages not exceeding $50.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get a $1,000 fine, up to 1 year in jail, or both penalties.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Vermont, a landlord must give a tenant at least 14 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 9, § 4467(a).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.