Utah Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Utah

Laws can differ from one state to another. That is why we’ve created a Guide To Screening Tenants in Utah. The guide is filled with free resources and tips on screening for the best tenants.

Regarding Security Deposit

Utah state law does not regulate the amount that landlords may collect from a tenant for a security deposit.

Utah law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of Utah require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 30 days of the end of tenancy.

Utah laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ann. §§ 57-17-1.

Regarding Application Fees

Utah law does not place limits on any application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the original check, plus interest, costs of collections, court costs, and any reasonable attorney fees.

Criminal Penalties: For checks less than $200, the application could get up to 6 months in jail, a fine of $299, or both. For a check between $200 and $300, they could get up to 1 year in jail, a fine of $1,000, or both. For a check between $300 and $1,000, the tenant could get either up to 5 years in jail, a fine of $5,000, or both. And for a check totaling more than $1,000, the tenant could get up to 15 years in prison, a fine of $1,000, or both.

Allowable Fees: $20

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Utah, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Utah Code Ann. § 78B-6-802.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.