Tennessee Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tennessee Tenant Screening

If you’re looking for tenant screening tips for the state of Tennessee, be sure to check out our Tennessee Tenant Screening Guide. It has plenty of free resources, forms, and helpful advice to find the best possible tenant for your property.

Regarding Security Deposit

Tennessee state law puts no limit on the amount landlords can collect for a security deposit.

Tennessee law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of Tennessee require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 10 days of the end of tenancy.

Tennessee laws concerning security deposits can be found in Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 66-28-101.

Regarding Application Fees

Tennessee law does not place limits on any application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Three times the amount of the original check, but the landlord cannot charge more than $500.

Criminal Penalties: For a check under $100, the tenant could get a fine of up to $500, up to 1 year in jail, or both. And for a check over $100, they could get anywhere from 3 to 10 years in jail.

Allowable Fees: $20

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Tennessee, a landlord must give a tenant at least 14 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28-505.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.