South Dakota Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in South Dakota

Rules and regulations can vary widely from state to state with tenant screening. You can check out our South Dakota tenant screening guide where we have a bunch of free resources and information specific to your state.

Regarding Security Deposit

South Dakota state law puts limits on the amount landlords can collect for a security deposit to one months’ rent.

South Dakota law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of South Dakota require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 14 days of the end of tenancy.

South Dakota laws concerning security deposits can be found in S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §§ 43-32-1 to -30.

Regarding Application Fees

South Dakota law does not place limits on any application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: All reasonable costs for collection.

Criminal Penalties: If it is a felony, the tenant could get up to 3 years in jail, and up to a $1,000 fine. For a 1st offense, they could get a fine of up to $100 and jail for up to 30 days, or both. For 2nd offense the tenant could get a fine of between $100 and $300 and jail for 1 to 6 months. For the 3rd and following offenses, the tenant could get a fine of anywhere between $300 and $500, and jail for 6 months to 1 year.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In South Dakota, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 21-16-1(4).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.