South Carolina Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in South Carolina

If you’re going through the process of filling a vacant rental it can be stressful. The rules are different from state to state and you want to make sure you’re following best practices.

That’s why we’ve compiled a Guide to Screening Tenants in South Carolina.

It’s filled with free downloadable resources and helpful tips to get the best possible tenant for your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

South Carolina state law does not put any limits on security deposits.

South Carolina law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of South Carolina require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 30 days of the end of tenancy.

South Carolina laws concerning security deposits can be found in S.C. Code Ann. §§ 27-40-10 to -940.

Regarding Application Fees

South Carolina law does not place limits on any application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: If paid within 30 days, the landlord can charge fines plus reasonable court costs (not exceeding $20). If payment is not made within 30 days, the tenant must pay the amount of the original check, and damages of $500 or triple the amount of the original amount due, whichever is less.

Criminal Penalties: Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In South Carolina, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to S.C. Code Ann. §§ 27-40-710(B).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.