Rhode Island Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Rhode Island

If you’re in the process of getting a new tenant in your rental, you’ll want to read our Rhode Island Tenant Screening Guide. It’s filled with free resources and lots of helpful tips for screening tenants in your state.

Regarding Security Deposit

Rhode Island state law puts limits on the amount landlords can collect for a security deposit to one months’ rent.

Rhode Island law doesn’t specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of Rhode Island require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 20 days of the end of tenancy.

Rhode Island laws concerning security deposits can be found in R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 34-18-1 to -57.

Regarding Application Fees

Rhode Island law does not place conditions on any application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the original check, fees of $25, plus an amount of up to three times the original check. (Cannot be less than $200 or greater than $1,000)

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get up to a $500 fine, up to 1 year in jail, or both. For a felony, they could get up to a $2,000 fine, up to 2 years in prison, or both.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Rhode Island, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to R.I. Gen. Laws § 34-18-35.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.