Tenant in Screening in Pennsylvania

If you’re in search of resources specific to tenant screening in Pennsylvania be sure to check out Pennsylvania tenant screening guide. It’s filled with free resources and helpful information to find the best renter for your rentals.

Regarding Security Deposit

Pennsylvania state law puts limits on the amount landlords can collect for security deposits. The first year of tenancy cannot exceed two months’ rent, and one months’ rent for the second year.

Pennsylvania law specifies how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit. Funds must be placed in an escrow account and pay out interest to the tenant every two years.

The state laws of Pennsylvania require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 30 days of the end of tenancy.

Pennsylvania laws concerning security deposits can be found in 68 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §§ 250.101 to .510-B, §§ 399.1 to .18.

Regarding Application Fees

Pennsylvania law puts conditions on any application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services, in that they are nonrefundable even if the tenant is not approved. There are no limits on the amount of application fee charged.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: After a written demand has been made, the landlord must file for a civil judgment, and is allowed to charge $100 or triple the amount of the original check. The amount cannot be more than $500 over the original amount.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get up to 2 years in prison, up to a $1,000 fine, or both.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Pennsylvania, a landlord must give a tenant at least 10 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to 68 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 250.501(b).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.