Tenant Screening in Oregon

If you’re in the process of screening tenants in Oregon you’ll notice the rules and regulations vary from one state to the next. That is why we’ve compiled a Guide to Screening Tenants in Oregon. It’s a helpful resource filled with free resources you can use to find the best possible tenant for your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

Oregon state law places no limit on the amount landlords can collect for security deposits.

Oregon law does not specify how landlords must hold a tenant’s security deposit.

The state laws of Oregon require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 31 days of the end of tenancy.

Oregon laws concerning security deposits can be found in Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 90.100 to 91.225.

Regarding Application Fees

Oregon law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: After a written demand is made, the landlord can charge either $100 or triple the amount of the original check, whichever is greater. The amount cannot be more than $500 over the original amount.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get a $1,000 fine, up to 1 year in jail, or both. For a felony they could get up to 5 years in jail.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Oregon, a landlord must give a tenant at least 11 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Ore. Rev. Stat. §§ 90.394(2))(a).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.