Oklahoma Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Oklahoma

The rules vary from one place to another when screening tenants. The same is true in the Sooner State. That’s why we’ve compiled a Guide to Screening Tenants in Oklahoma. It includes plenty of free downloadable resources and helpful hints to get the best tenant in your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

Oklahoma state law places no limit on the amount landlords can collect for security deposits.

Oklahoma law requires landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a federally insured, interest-bearing account.

The state laws of Oklahoma require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 30 days of the end of tenancy.

Oklahoma laws concerning security deposits can be found in Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 41, §§ 101 to 136.

Regarding Application Fees

Oklahoma law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: None

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get a $1,000 fine, up to 1 year in jail, or both. For a felony, they could get up to a $5,000 fine, or 1 to 10 years in jail.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Oklahoma, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 41, § 131.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.