Ohio Landlord-Tenant Laws

Ohio Tenant Screening Guide

If you’re looking for advice and information regarding tenant screening in Ohio than be sure to checkout our Ohio Tenant Screening Guide. It has plenty of free resources, tips, and advice to find the best renter for your property.

Regarding Security Deposit

Ohio state law places no limit on the amount landlords can collect for security deposits.

Ohio law requires landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a federally insured, interest-bearing account. If the security deposit is greater than one months’ rent, the landlord must pay the interest to tenants annually.

The state laws of Ohio require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 30 days of the end of tenancy.

Ohio laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 5321.01 to .19.

Regarding Application Fees

Ohio law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: There is no maximum amount that can be charged in Ohio. A landlord can charge $200 or triple the amount of the original check, whichever is greater, plus attorney fees.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get a $1,000 fine, up to 6 months in jail, or both. For a felony, they could get a $2,500 fine, up to 5 years in jail, or both.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Ohio, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 5321.17.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.