North Dakota Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in North Dakota

Are you looking for information on screening tenants? Check out our blog post specific to tenant screening in North Dakota.

Regarding Security Deposit

North Dakota state law limits that amount landlords can collect for security deposits to one months’ rent.

North Dakota law requires landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a federally insured, interest-bearing account. Landlords must pay out any earned interest to tenants annually.

The state laws of North Dakota require landlords to return a security deposit to a tenant within 30 days of the end of tenancy.

North Dakota laws concerning security deposits can be found in N.D. Cent. Code §§ 47-16-01 to -41.

Regarding Application Fees

North Dakota law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the check, and fees up to $10. Plus whichever is less, $100 or triple the amount of the original check.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get a fine anywhere between $25 and $250, up to 3 months in a county jail, or both. If the account that the check is drawn from is non-existent, then they could get fined up to $500 and 1 year in jail.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In North Dakota, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to N.D. Cent. Code § 47-32-01.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.