New Jersey Tenant Screening

If you’re looking for informations specific to New Jersey Tenant Screening then be sure to check out our New Jersey Tenant Screening Guide. It is filled with free resources and forms to help you identify the best possible tenant for your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

New Jersey state law sets the limit that landlords can collect for security deposits as up to one and a half months’ rent.

New Jersey law requires landlords to hold a tenant’s security deposit in an insured money market fund or a federally insured bank with an interest rate.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 30 days after the end of the tenancy. If the tenant vacated the unit due to a natural disaster or due to the inhabitability of the rental unit, the landlord must refund the security deposit within 5 days.

New Jersey laws concerning security deposits can be found in New Jersey NJSA:46-19.

Regarding Application Fees

New Jersey law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the original check, plus any attorney fees, court costs, and the cost of mailing a demand for payment letter. Landlord can also charge damages for either $100, or triple the amount of the original check, whichever is greater. It cannot exceed $500 however.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get up to one year in jail, up to a $1,000 fine, or both.

Allowable Fees:  $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In New Jersey, a landlord must give a tenant at least 30 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 2A:18-53.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.