Nevada Landlord-Tenant Laws

Nevada Tenant Screening

If you’re in the process of filling out a vacant rental you’ll want to check out our Nevada Tenant Screening Guide. It will provide you with free resources and helpful knowledge specific to your state’s laws and regulations.

Regarding Security Deposit

Nevada state law sets the limit that landlords can collect for security deposits as up to three months’ rent.

Nevada law does not place conditions on how a landlord must keep a tenant’s security deposit.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 30 days after the end of the tenancy.

Nevada laws concerning security deposits can be found in Nevada RS 118A-240.

Regarding Application Fees

Nevada law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The original amount of the check, plus protest fees that are not allowed to be less than $100 or exceed $500.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get a $500 fine, up to 6 months in a county jail, or both. For a felony, they could get a $10,000 fine, 1 to 10 years in a state prison, or both.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Nevada, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40.251.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.