Nebraska Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Nebraska

When it comes to tenant screening the rules differ from place to place. That’s why we’ve created a Guide for Tenant Screening in Nebraska.

Check out the guide for free resources and tips on screening tenants in your state.

Regarding Security Deposit

Nebraska state law only allows landlords to collect a security deposit equal to one months’ rent. An additional pet deposit is allowed, but cannot exceed ¼ months’ rent.

Nebraska law does not place conditions on how a landlord must keep a tenant’s security deposit.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 14 days after lease termination.

Nebraska laws concerning security deposits can be found in Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 76-1401 to -1449.

Regarding Application Fees

Nebraska law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The original amount of the check plus any additional costs to the landlord and protest fees.

Criminal Penalties: Issuing or passing a check of any amount results in a class II misdemeanor. Less than $75 is a class II misdemeanor and the second offense is a class IV felony. Between $300 and $1,000 is a class IV felony, and more than $1,000 is a class III felony.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Nebraska, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-1431(2).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.