Montana Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Montana

Montana has different rules and regulations than other states when it comes to tenant screening. You can learn the specific by reading our Montana Tenant Screening Guide. It’s filled with free resources and education specific to your state.

Regarding Security Deposit

Montana state law doesn’t place a limit on the amount of security deposit a landlord can collect.

Montana law does not place conditions on how a landlord must keep a tenant’s security deposit.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 10 days after lease termination if there are no deductions for damages. If the landlord needs to deduct from the security deposit, it must be returned to the tenant, with a detailed list of deductions, within 30 days.

Montana laws concerning security deposits can be found in Mont. Code Ann. §§ 70-24-101 to -26-110.

Regarding Application Fees

Montana law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: A landlord is allowed to charge the tenant $100, or three times the amount owed to them, plus a service charge. But they are not allowed to exceed the amount of the original check by more than $500.

Criminal Penalties: If the amount of the check is under $500, then the tenant could get a fine of up to $500, 6 months in jail, or both. If the amount of the check is over $500, then the tenant could get a fine of up to $50,000, 10 years in a state prison, or both punishments.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Montana, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Mont. Code Ann. § 700-24-422(2).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.