Missouri Landlord-Tenant Laws

Missouri Tenant Screening

If you’re looking for Missouri tenant screening resources, check out our Missouri Tenant Screening Guide. It is filled with free resources, forms, and advice on finding the best possible tenant for your rental unit.

Regarding Security Deposit

Missouri state law doesn’t allow landlords to collect security deposits greater than two months’ rent.

Missouri law does not place conditions on how a landlord must keep a tenant’s security deposit.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 30 days after lease termination.

Missouri laws concerning security deposits can be found in Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 441.005.

Regarding Application Fees

Missouri law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Damages are not allowed to exceed $500, but a landlord is allowed to charge either triple the amount owed to them, or $100.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant can get a fine up to $500, 6 months in jail, or both. For a felony, they can get up to a $1,000 fine, one year in jail, or both. Also, depending on the amount of the check the prosecutor can collect a fee from the tenant. If the check is less than $10, they can collect a $5 fee, if between $10 and $100 they can collect a $10 fee, and if the check is over $100 they can collect a $25 fee.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Missouri, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Mo. Rev. Stat. § 535-010.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.