Mississippi Landlord-Tenant Laws

Mississippi Tenant Screening

If you’re in the process of filling a vacant rental, you’ll want to check out our Mississippi Tenant Screening Guide. We have free downloadable resources and state specific laws. Check out the guide to get the best tenant possible.

Regarding Security Deposit

Mississippi state law places no limit on what landlords may charge up for a security deposit.

Mississippi law also does not place conditions on how a landlord must keep a tenant’s security deposit.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 45 days after lease termination.

Mississippi laws concerning security deposits can be found in Miss. Code Sec. 89-8-21.

Regarding Application Fees

Mississippi law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount due, plus any additional damages (100% for checks up to $25,000, 50% for checks between $25 and $200, and 25% for checks over $200).

Criminal Penalties: For checks $100 or less, the penalty depends on what number offense it is. For 1st offense, the tenant will get a fine between $25 and $500, 5 days to 6 months in a county jail, or both. For the 2nd offense, they will get a fine between $50 and $1,000, or 30 days to 1 year in a county jail. If it is their 3rd offense, then it is automatically considered a felony and they will get anywhere from 1 to 5 years in a state prison. If the check is over $100, this is also automatically considered a felony, and the tenant will get a fine anywhere between $100 and $1,000, up to three years in prison, or both.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Mississippi, a landlord must give a tenant at least 3 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Miss. Code Ann. §§ 89-7-27.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.