Michigan Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening Michigan

We have a helpful post specific to tenant screening in Michigan. For free forms, resources, and information check out our Tenant Screening Michigan Guide.

Regarding Security Deposit

Michigan state law allows landlords to charge up to one and a half months’ rent for a security deposit.

Michigan landlords must keep a tenant’s security in a federally insured financial institution.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 30 days after lease termination.

Michigan laws concerning security deposits can be found in MCL Sec. 554.601, et Seq.

Regarding Application Fees

Michigan law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Not available.

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Michigan, a landlord must give a tenant at least 7 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Mich. Comp. Laws § 554.134(2).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.