Maryland Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Maryland

Regarding Security Deposit

Maryland state law restricts landlords from collecting more than two months’ rent for a security deposit.

Maryland landlords must keep a tenant’s security deposit in a federally insured financial institution in an interest bearing account. Any interest must be refunded to the tenant within 45 days after the tenancy ends.

Landlords must return a security deposits within 45 days after lease termination.

Maryland laws concerning security deposits can be found in Maryland. MRS 14 Sec. 6031 et seq.

Regarding Application Fees

Maryland law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the check, a $15 fee, and up to two times the amount of the check, but not exceeding $1,000. Landlord can claim this 30 days after mailing a notice of dishonor to the last known address of the tenant.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get a fine of up to $100, up to 60 days in jail, or both. For a felony, the tenant could get a fine of up to $1,000, up to 15 years in jail, or both.

Allowable Fees: $35

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Maryland, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Md. Code Ann. [Real Prop.] § 8-401.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.