Maine Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Maine

Many states will have different rules and regulations when it comes to tenant screening. We have free resources and a full guide on Maine Tenant Screening you can check out.

Regarding Security Deposit

Maine state law puts a security deposit limit on how much landlords can collect—up to two months’ rent.

Maine landlords must keep a tenant’s security deposit in a legitimate financial institution but it is not required to be in an interest bearing account.

For a tenant with a written lease, landlords must return a security deposits within 30 days after lease termination. If the rental agreement was oral, the landlord must return the deposit within 21 days.

Maine laws concerning security deposits can be found in Maine. MRS 14 Sec. 6031 et seq.

Regarding Application Fees

Maine law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the check plus court costs, service costs, collection fees and processing fees may be recovered if proper notice is given for payment within 10 days.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get a fine of up to $1,000, 11 months in jail, or both punishments.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Maine, a landlord must give a tenant at least 7 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14 § 6002.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.