Louisiana Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Louisiana

When screening tenants the rules can change from one state to the next. That’s why we’ve compiled a Louisiana Tenant Screening Guide to give you the proper rules and regulations along with free downloadable resources. Check it out to get the best possible tenant for your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

Louisiana state law places no limit on the total amount a landlord can collect for a security deposit.

There are no legal requirements for how landlords must keep a tenant’s deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 30 days after lease termination, as long as there is not a wrongful termination of the rental agreement by the tenant.

Louisiana laws concerning security deposits can be found in La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 9:3251.

Regarding Application Fees

Louisiana law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: If the tenant fails to make the check good within 30 days of the written demand, delivered by certified or registered mail, damages include double the amount of the check but never less than $100, plus attorney fees and court costs. Landlord may charge service fees not exceeding $15 or 5% of the face value of the check, whichever is greater. The District Attorney can also collect fee and charges for bad checks, this will depend on the value of the check.

Criminal Penalties: If the check is $100 or less, the tenant could get a fine of up to $500, imprisonment of up to 6 months, or both. For a check between $100 and $500, they could get imprisonment for up to 2 years, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. And a check for $500 or more, they could get imprisonment for up to 10 years, a fine of up to $3,000, or both. Also, the court could order the tenant to make restitution plus any reasonable attorney fees.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Louisiana, a landlord must give a tenant at least 5 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to La. Civ. Proc. Ann art. 4701.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.