Tenant Screening in Kentucky

When screening tenants there is no guide to cover every state. The laws vary from place to place and that’s why we’ve created a Guide to Screening Tenants in Kentucky. It’s filled with downloadable resources and helpful knowledge to get you the best tenant possible.

Regarding Security Deposit

Kentucky state law places no limit on the total amount a landlord can collect for a security deposit.

Kentucky law requires landlords to place a tenant’s deposit in a federally insured institution. The security deposit cannot mingle with any other funds.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 30 days after lease termination, either in full or with an itemized list of deductions.

Kentucky laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ky. KRS Sec 383.580.

Regarding Application Fees

Kentucky law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: The amount of the check, plus the bad check fee and any related merchant charges.

Criminal Penalties: For a misdemeanor, the tenant could get up to a $500 fine, or one year in penitentiary. For a felony, the tenant could be imprisoned anywhere from 1 to 5 years, or they could be fined up to $10,000.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

In Kentucky, a landlord must give a tenant at least 7 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.660(2).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.