Indiana Landlord-Tenant Laws

Indiana Tenant Screening

Are you looking for advice on tenant screening in the state of Indiana? Check out our Indiana Tenant Screening Guide which is filled with free forms, resources, and advice to help you get the best possible tenant.

Regarding Security Deposit

Indiana state law places no limits on the amount of security deposit that landlords can charge, as long as it is reasonable.

The law also does not place requirements on how landlords must hold the tenant’s security deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 45 days after lease termination, either in full or with an itemized list of deductions.

Indiana laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ind. Code Ann. §§ 32-31-1-1 to -8-6.

Regarding Application Fees

Indiana law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Triple the amount of the check, never to exceed $500 plus attorney fees of no less than $100 and an interest rate of 18% per annum.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get a fine of up to $5,000, a year in jail, or both.

Allowable Fees: $20

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 10-day notice to pay or quit for not paying rent. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Ind. Code Ann. § 32-31-1-6.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.