Illinois Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Illinois

If you’re in search of tenant screening advice for the state of Illinois be sure to check out our Illinois Tenant Screening guide. It is filled with free forms, resources, and tips to get the best renter possible.

Regarding Security Deposit

Illinois state law places no limits on the amount of security deposit that landlords can charge.

There are no specifications for how landlords must hold the tenant’s security deposit. However, some municipalities in Illinois, such as Chicago, have statutes that more closely regulate landlord/tenant relations. Some of these municipalities require landlords to hold security deposits in an interest bearing account and pay that to the tenant every 12 months.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 45 days after lease termination. If the landlord is deducting from the deposit, the tenant must receive a written list of deductions within 30 days of lease termination.

Illinois laws concerning security deposits can be found in 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. §§ 5/9-201 to 321.

Regarding Application Fees

Illinois law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: $100 or triple the amount of the check, whichever is greater, plus attorney fees and court costs. Never more than $500 of the value of the check

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get a fine of up to $500, a year in jail, or both.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 5-day notice to pay or quit for not paying rent. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 5/9-209.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.