Idaho Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Idaho

If you’re looking for resources on tenant screening, we’ve created a blog post specific to Idaho Tenant Screening. We have free resources and tips to help guide you through the screening process.

Regarding Security Deposit

Idaho state law places no limits on the amount of security deposit that landlords can charge.

There are no specifications for how landlords must hold the tenant’s security deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned in full within 21 days after lease termination, or 30 days with an itemized list of deductions.

Idaho laws concerning security deposits can be found in Idaho Statutes Title 6, Chap. 3, Sec. 6-321.

Regarding Application Fees

Idaho law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Check fraud is not protected for landlords. Idaho Code § 1-2301(A).

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 3-day notice to pay or quit for not paying rent. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Idaho Code § 6-303(2).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.