Hawaii Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Hawaii

Hawaii is truly on an island when it comes to tenant screening. The rules and regulations vary widely from state to state so we’ve created a guide specifically for tenant screening in Hawaii. You can check out that guide and get free resources to help you find the perfect tenant for your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

Hawaii state law limits the amount of security deposit that landlords can charge to one month’s rent. A separate pet deposit may be charged, up to one months’ rent, that is separate from the security department.

Hawaii law doesn’t place any specific requirements on landlords to hold a tenant’s security deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 14 days after lease termination, or else landlords must provide an itemized list of deductions.

Hawaii laws concerning security deposits can be found in Haw. Rev. Stat. §§ 521-1 to -78.

Regarding Application Fees

Hawaii law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Amount of the check plus suit costs and protest fees

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get up to 1 year in jail, a fine of $1,000, or both.

Allowable Fees: $20

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 5-day notice to pay or quit for not paying rent. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Haw. Rev. Stat. § 521-68.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.