Georgia Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Georgia

If you’re looking for tenant screening information specific to Georgia, be sure to check out our Georgia Tenant Screening Guide. It has many free resources, forms, and advice to find the best possible tenant for your rentals.

Regarding Security Deposit

Georgia state law does not impose regulations on the amount of security deposit a landlord can charge.

Georgia law requires landlords to place a tenant’s security deposit into a separate, unique account or else put into a surety bond. Landlords must also provide the tenant with the name, address and account number of the account once deposited.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 30 days after lease termination, or else landlords must provide an itemized list of deductions.

Georgia laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ga. Code Ann. §§ 44-7-1 to -81.

Regarding Application Fees

Georgia law doesn’t limit the amount a landlord can charge for an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: If tenant fails to make the check good within 30 days of the demand, double the amount of the check, not exceeding $500 and the service fees not to exceed $15

Criminal Penalties: A check under $100 could result in up to 1 year in jail, a fine of up to $500, or both. If the check is between $100 and $300, then it could result in either up to 1 year in jail, or a fine of up to $1,000. Also, when convicted, the tenant must make restitution of the amount of the original check. If the check is over $500, then they could get up to 3 years in jail, a fine of between $500 and $5,000, or both.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 7-day notice to pay or quit for not paying rent. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to Ga. Code Ann. §§ 44-7-50.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.