Connecticut Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Connecticut

When screening tenants the rules are different from state to state. We’ve compiled a Guide to Screening Tenants in Connecticut which will help you navigate the steps involved to find the best tenant. It also includes plenty of free downloadable resources.

Regarding Security Deposit

Connecticut state law limits the amount of security deposit a landlord can charge to two months’ rent for everyone except tenants who are 62 and older. In that case, the deposit can only equal one months’ rent.

Connecticut law requires landlords to place a tenant’s security deposit into an escrow account, and pay out interest on that deposit annually.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 30 days after the lease terminates, generally. Or within 15 days of receiving the tenant’s forwarding address, whichever option is later.

When making deductions from the security deposit you have to provide an itemized list of what the monies were used for and return within that 30 day period notating any interest due to them. If all of their security was used for repairs you do not have to return the interest.

Connecticut laws concerning security deposits can be found in Conn. Statutes Chap 831 Sec. Sec. 47a-21.

Regarding Application Fees

Connecticut has no limits in place for what a landlord can charge as an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: If the check was written with no bank account the fee is $750 or the amount of the check, whichever is greater. If NSF the fee is $400 or the amount of the check, whichever is greater.

Criminal Penalties: The tenant could get 1 year in jail, a fine up to $1,000, or both.

Allowable Fees: $20

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 3-day notice to pay or quit after the 10th day of the month of not paying rent. After the 3 days, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings through the district or county court, according to Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 47a-23 and 47a-15a.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.