Colorado Landlord-Tenant Laws

Colorado Tenant Screening

Are you looking for tenant screening advice in the state of Colorado? Be sure to check out our Colorado Tenant Screening Guide. It is filled with free forms, resources, and advice on finding the best possible tenant for your rental property.

Reporting Guidelines

Reporting guidelines for bankruptcies, judgments/liens, and evictions are set by the Federal Credit Reporting Agency (FCRA). The FCRA has determined that: 

  • Judgments are reportable for up to 7 years from the filing date or released date
  • Liens are reportable for up to 7 years from the filing date or released date
  • Evictions are reportable for up to 7 years from the filing date or released date
  • Bankruptcies are reportable for up to 10 years

Colorado boasts some of the most stringent criteria when it comes to disclosing criminal records in tenant screening reports. Notably: 

  • Records of convictions (encompassing felonies, misdemeanors, and traffic citations) remain reportable for a duration of 7 years
  • Incidents wherein an individual faced criminal charges without resulting in a conviction are deemed non-reportable 
  • Cases that are currently pending are also considered not reportable
  • Individuals possessing arrest records fall within the non-reportable category as well

Regarding Security Deposit

Colorado state law doesn’t set restrictions on the amount landlords can collect for a security deposit as long as it is considered reasonable. However, a few municipalities have set up requirements, so Colorado landlords should verify any restrictions with their city.

Colorado law doesn’t require landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a trust account, nor pay interest on that deposit. However, a few municipalities may have such requirements.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 30 days after the lease terminates. Landlords must provide an itemized list of any deductions that includes proof of damage, receipts and even photos to document each deduction.

Colorado laws concerning security deposits can be found in Colo. Rev. Stat. CRS Sec. 38-12-103.

Regarding Application Fees

Colorado landlords may not charge an applicant an application fee unless the landlord uses the entire amount of the fee to cover the landlords cost in processing the application.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Triple the amount of the check, including reasonable fees, no less than $100

Criminal Penalties: If it is a misdemeanor, then the tenant could get a fine of anywhere between $250 and $1,000, be put in a county jail for 3 to 12 months, or both. If it is considered a felony, they could be fined between $1,000 and $15,000, imprisoned in a state jail for 1 to 5 years, or both.

Allowable Fees: $20

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 3-day notice to pay or quit, after which the landlord can begin eviction proceedings through the district or county court, according to Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-40-104(1)(d).

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.