Arkansas Landlord-Tenant Laws

Arkansas Tenant Screening Guide

Rules can be different from state to state. That’s why we’ve created a guide specific to Arkansas Tenant Screening. You can download free resources and get all the helpful tips we have specific to your state.

Regarding Security Deposit

Arkansas state law puts a limit of 2 months’ rent for security deposits when the landlord or owner has at least five units or uses a property management company to manage and collect funds. If a landlord owns fewer than 5 rental units, there are no limits except what is considered reasonable.

Arkansas law doesn’t require landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a trust account, nor pay interest on that deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 60 days after a tenant moves out. If part or all of the deposit is applied to unpaid rent or damages, an itemized list of deductions must be sent to the tenant

Arkansas laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 18-16-101 to -306, -501 to -508.

Regarding Application Fees

Arkansas has no limits in place for what a landlord can charge as an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: Service charges not to exceed $10. Failure to make restitution results in liability to pay twice the amount of the check and never less than $50

Criminal Penalties: If the check is for $200 or less, then it depends on what conviction it is. For 1st conviction, there could be a fine anywhere between $50 and $500, imprisonment of up to 30 days, or both. For a tenants 2nd conviction, they could be fined anywhere between $100 and $1,000, imprisonment of up to 90 days, or both. For the 3rd conviction, they could be fined anywhere between $200 and $2,000, imprisonment up to 1 year, or both. If the check is for $500 or more, there can be a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both.

Allowable Fees: $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 10-day notice to pay or quit, after which the landlord can begin eviction proceedings through the district or county court, according to Ark. Stat. §§ 18-16-101.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.