Arizona Landlord-Tenant Laws

Arizona Tenant Screening

If you’re looking for helpful advice on tenant screening in Arizona, be sure to checkout our Arizona Tenant Screening Guide. It is filled with free resources, forms, and advice to get the best possible tenant in your rental.

Regarding Security Deposit

Landlords can charge up to 1 1/2 months’ rent for a security deposit, unless the tenant and landlord reach a mutual agreement for a higher amount, such as an additional sum for a pet deposit.

Arizona law doesn’t require landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a trust account, nor pay interest on that deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 14 days after a tenant moves out.

Arizona laws concerning security deposits can be found in Ariz. Rev. Stat. ARS 33-1321.

Regarding Application Fees

Arizona has no limits in place for what a landlord can charge as an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: $50 or twice the amount of the check, whichever is greater, plus the costs of suit and reasonable attorney fees.

Criminal Penalties: A check under $25 could result in up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $300, or both. If the check is between $25 and $100, then it could result in either up to 5 years in state prison or up to 1 year in county jail, or a fine of up to $500. If the check is over $100, then they could get up to 5 years in state prison.

Allowable Fees:  $25

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

A tenant will receive a 5-day notice to pay or quit, after which the landlord can begin eviction proceedings through the district or county court, according to Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §33-1368.

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.