Alabama Landlord-Tenant Laws

Tenant Screening in Alabama

If you’re in the process of screening tenants you’ll want to make sure you’re following laws specific to your state.

Our Alabama Tenant Screening Guide will provide free resources and state specific tips to help you get the best possible renter.

Check it out and download the free resources.

Regarding Security Deposit

The law limits the amount of security deposit a landlord can charge—up to or equal to one month’s rent. Additional amounts for pet deposits or uninstalling alterations to accommodate tenants are also allowed by law.

Alabama law does not require landlords to put a tenant’s security deposit in a separate bank account, nor pay interest on the deposit.

Tenant security deposits must be returned within 60 days days after a tenant moves out. This is based on a new laws that came into effect July 2014.

The deposit must be returned in full or with an itemized statement of deductions.

Alabama laws concerning security deposits can be found in the Alabama Code § 35-9A-201.

Regarding Application Fees

Alabama has no limits in place for what a landlord can charge as an application fee.

Regarding Tenant Bad Checks

Civil Penalties: $10 or actual bank charges, whichever is greater

Criminal Penalties: If the amount owed is $500 or greater, then there is a fine of $500 to $5,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both punishments. If the amount owed is less than $500, the fine allowed depends on the amount and the offense. The court will also order restitution to the landlord, and the tenant will be required to pay court costs if convicted.

Allowable Fees: $30

Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment

Landlords must give tenants seven days in which to pay the rent or move out of the rental property. After seven days with no payment, the landlord can start the eviction process, according to Alabama Code § 35-9A-421

Do you know who you’re renting to?

Signup takes seconds.